BAD AT KEEPING SECRETS
BAD AT KEEPING SECRETS
Admitting life is hard can be a relief
3
0:00
-38:51

Admitting life is hard can be a relief

with Kieran Setiya
3

There is something inherently beautiful in the human condition and being able to experience the entire range of emotions, both good and bad. But there’s also something undeniable that we can’t escape from - life is really hard. Sometimes I’m still not sure how I feel about silver linings. For me, it feels like there is a reality that is being denied when I force myself to see the “good” in every situation. Because sometimes things just suck.

Thank you for reading BAD AT KEEPING SECRETS. This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

I had the chance to speak with Kieran Setiya about his new book Life Is Hard, a philosophical guide to facing life’s inevitable hardships (and was named a best book of the year by The New Yorker and The Economist). Kieran is a professor of philosophy at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and his book shows how the tools of philosophy can offer us a map for navigating life’s rough terrain, from personal trauma to the injustice and absurdity of the world.

I am not against acknowledging that the randomness of the world and our existence can and does help us learn from things, but do they always have to make us stronger and better? I think there is space to hold both in harmony with each other. Life is hard, but it is really really beautiful too.

Thanks for being here with me, much love to you all

BAD AT KEEPING SECRETS is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

3 Comments
BAD AT KEEPING SECRETS
BAD AT KEEPING SECRETS
Each week, we invite thought leaders and experts in the fields of art, design and self-help, to talk about their areas of expertise, share a secret and share what is exciting for them.