BAD AT KEEPING SECRETS
BAD AT KEEPING SECRETS
How can we find wonder and awe in anxious times?
2
0:00
-49:14

How can we find wonder and awe in anxious times?

Katherine May's new book Enchantment comes out Feb 28! (...spoiler: it's not about rainbows and unicorns)
2

Katherine May’s new book, Enchantment, comes out this week! Feb 28 in the US and March 9 for the UK - preorder here (preordering a book is super important for authors to get seen. If you know you or a loved one want a copy, why not order it now?) Help Katherine get her message to the people who need to hear it. Or wait 2 more days if you’re feeling super patient.

Thank you for reading BAD AT KEEPING SECRETS. This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

In celebration, this week I want to revisit my chat with Katherine, a best-selling author and podcast host, of whom I adore in so many ways. I had the pleasure (and it really was a pleasure) of talking to her in January. I first heard about her with her book, Wintering: The Power of Rest and Retreat in Difficult Times during the height of the lockdown in 2020. In so many ways, this book helped me let go of control and step back. That there is comfort in resting. I don’t know about you, but I needed permission to use rest as a way to keep going.

Listen on Spotify

When I saw she had a new book coming out, I had to talk to her. I do these interviews because I love meeting people and I love sharing ideas that I feel are helpful in defining what it means to be alive in these times. And wow, Katherine does that. First, let me explain the title. For those of you who thought of rainbows and unicorns with this title, sadly, there are not any featured in this book. However, the elements here, are no less filled with wonder and magic. The book is organized around connecting with the Earth, Water, Fire, and Air - giving into the cyclical nature of being.

The western culture so often has us working against the seasons, nature, and each other. This leaves us feeling disconnected and often like we are swimming upstream (maybe this is just me? IDK) working against forces that naturally offer soothing moments.

I also pretend Katherine is a dictionary, and ask her how she would define terms that I feel like I don’t really have a grasp on even though I have spent my life using them freely. For what seems like forever, I have been trying to make a structure for meaning that reflects the world I have experienced. Perhaps you are doing this too? It feels like a longing for understanding and connection, a search for some truth (all the while knowing there probably is none…).

We re-define Enchantment, Rituals, Resilience, and how Katherine sees God in this moment. She, however, pushes back on the idea of fixed definitions altogether. And why it might feel good to feel small sometimes.

Sending softness and care your way, love always, Carissa

BAD AT KEEPING SECRETS is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

2 Comments
BAD AT KEEPING SECRETS
BAD AT KEEPING SECRETS
Each week, we invite thought leaders and experts in the fields of art, design and self-help, to talk about their areas of expertise, share a secret and share what is exciting for them.