BAD AT KEEPING SECRETS
BAD AT KEEPING SECRETS
Knowing what your body needs
4
0:00
-54:29

Knowing what your body needs

Self-care rituals with Susan Weis-Bohlen
4

Lately I have been feeling under the weather without actually being sick with a fever - does that ever happen to you? I have a sneaking suspicion it is from the fluctuating weather we’ve been having. And I am not a doctor, but as a person who has a hard time with transitions and seems to get sick every time the weather changes, I am interested in alternative ways of healing/being in addition to my Western traditions.

Today I am revisiting my conversation I had with Susan Weis-Bohlen on Ayurveda, the connections between our health and wellness and the seasons, and her book Seasonal Self-Care Rituals. According to ancient texts of Ayurveda, “all diseases begin at the junction of the seasons,” and Susan offers some interesting insights on creating balance through each season.

Listen on Spotify

A few topics in this video that I find really mind-boggling, that should have been kinda obvious to me:

  1. Our food cravings are telling us something.

  2. Eating seasonally is good for the planet, but also for your body on more levels than I understood.

  3. A new understanding of moods can predict what your body is needing.

  4. We need to live with the seasons, not against them.

    BAD AT KEEPING SECRETS is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

4 Comments
BAD AT KEEPING SECRETS
BAD AT KEEPING SECRETS
Each week, we invite thought leaders and experts in the fields of art, design and self-help, to talk about their areas of expertise, share a secret and share what is exciting for them.