BAD AT KEEPING SECRETS
BAD AT KEEPING SECRETS
Setting Yourself Up For Failure.
0:00
-41:28

Setting Yourself Up For Failure.

Kate Baer on the richness of working through hard things.
Transcript

No transcript...

“To witness one life's miserable devastation and see her reach, instead, for joy. Let your life rest on what is already good. It's just another day in the good-bad, bad-good earth machine.”

Kate Baer is a poet who I love. I found out about her work when What Kind of Woman her first collection of poems came out. It was raw and true and I loved every moment in it - not because it was perfect - but because it reflected my experience. Kate is not into easy. There is something with ease that seems boring, or not representative of what makes life dynamic.

Kate just says it, how she is feeling, because as she says: “It will feel good.” We talk about our personal dealings with mental illness, how God shows up in her work, and having faith that you are right where you need to be.

For years now, I have personally been turning to poetry to explain and make me feel understood through the hard moments. Kate’s writing is where I turn for comfort and someone to sit with me through it.

I hope you enjoy. To see more from Kate, visit here:

And finally, a poem from Kate’s book:

Kate Baer

Thanks for being here with me.

Share BAD AT KEEPING SECRETS

0 Comments
BAD AT KEEPING SECRETS
BAD AT KEEPING SECRETS
Each week, we invite thought leaders and experts in the fields of art, design and self-help, to talk about their areas of expertise, share a secret and share what is exciting for them.